Academics at Agnes,  Day in the Life

A Day In the Life of a Scottie (while COVID-19 is happening)

A photo of Taliesyn Jax, the writer of the piece.

Hi, I’m Taliesyn. Because of physical distancing procedures, Agnes Scott moved all classes online starting in mid-March, and students who could do so moved out of residence halls. I wanted to share with you a typical day in my life of being back at home while in virtual classes!

9 a.m.: Since being home, I usually start my day a little later because all of my classes are asynchronous, so I am able to choose when to do the work. I wake up around 9 a.m., make breakfast, and get ready for the day. One thing that I have been enjoying about being home is that I have more time to make elaborate meals than I would on campus. Today, I made PB&J oatmeal, but other days I might have a tofu scramble with veggies and a bagel or peanut butter toast, depending on what I’m in the mood for that day. 

Taliesyn's healthy breakfast, which looks delicious.
Making a healthy breakfast is important!

10 a.m.: After having breakfast, I go through my emails and calendar to prepare a to-do list. Today my to-do list looks like this:

  • Study for Psychology 102 test
  • Work on writing my practicum essay for Religion & Ecology
  • Work on & turn in thesis statement for Philosophy of Race final

11 a.m.: Once I have figured out what I am doing for the day, I can get started on checking things off. The first task of the day is studying for my psychology test, which I do with one of my friends who is also in that class. We get together on Zoom and go through the test review that our professor has prepared for us. Studying with a friend is nice because it holds both of us accountable for our education, and it is really nice to talk with my friend and be social, especially during these times.

1 p.m.: Once my friend and I have finished up studying for the day, I am off to another Zoom meeting, this time with the Wellness Center Student Advisory Committee, which helps advise our health professionals on campus in the Wellness Center how they can best work with students. This was our last meeting of the semester, so we held a small virtual graduation party for the senior in our group. I have really enjoyed working with this committee on campus, so it is nice to get together online to experience a little bit of normalcy. 

1:50 p.m.: Our meeting finishes up, and I am ready for lunch! Today I prepared a sandwich and a smoothie. I really enjoy spending this time off of my phone and laptop, because so much of our lives right now are happening through screens.

2:30 p.m.: I move on to finishing up an essay for my Religion & Ecology class. In this class, we are studying how different religions look at modern environmental issues. This essay is a replacement for the practicum experience that we originally had in the class, but can no longer do since we are online. For my practicum, we were originally planting seeds and transplanting them to the pollinator garden on campus once they had germinated. Planting seeds was important to the class because not only were we looking at how religions view the environment, but we were also exploring individual actions that we can take to reduce harm for the environment. We were able to plant seeds during the first half of the semester, but we were not able to transplant them due to the timing of leaving campus. Instead we are now doing research on the process of germination for two of the plants we planted. Then, we are writing about that and reflecting on how we could make those plants work in our spaces.

3:30 p.m.: I haven’t quite finished up my essay, but my grandma set up a game party on the House Party app. During this time, I have loved exploring how I can stay connected with my friends and family. I really enjoy using House Party app because it is like a video call, so you can check-in with your friends and family, or you can play the in-app games.

4:30 p.m.: Once my family video call is done, I start writing a thesis statement for an essay in my Philosophy of Race course. We had originally planned to do a group presentation for our final project, but that has since shifted to an individual project. The topic is based on a book that we read in class called White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide

5:30 p.m.: Once I am done writing my thesis statement, I start making dinner. Something that I have really enjoyed about being home is that my mom, my sister, and I will make dinner together. With the weather being warmer we have been loving to grill out, and we make grilled veggies almost every night!

7:15 p.m.: After we are done making and eating dinner, I have been going out on walks almost every night. Exercising is really important to me because I feel better about my physical and mental health afterward. It was easy to fit exercise in while at Agnes because I had workout buddies, but when I first got home it was hard to make exercise a priority, and I am still not doing workouts at the same intensity I was at Agnes. However, I have found that walking in my neighborhood for about an hour daily has been nice because it is good to move around, get fresh air, and appreciate nature after spending most of the day online. I think this will actually be the main thing that I will continue doing once normal life resumes because I appreciate this time a lot.

Pink blooms on a tree Taliesyn sees while on a walk.
Also, right now everything is beautiful outside.

8:15 p.m.: Once back at home, I usually start watching something on Netflix. Lately, I have decided to re-watch The Office and Jane the Virgin, and I have been really appreciating both. I usually have a dessert while watching, and it’s almost always something like berries with chocolate and cinnamon, but I also have been baking. I made cheesecake bites one night and they were so good!  

10 p.m. and later: Sleep hygiene is really important to me because I feel physically and mentally better when I get a good night’s sleep, so around this time, I try to limit my screen time and switch to reading or journaling. Then it’s time to sleep!

Thanks for joining me for my Day in the Life! All of us hope you are doing well and staying safe.

Taliesyn Jax is a rising junior at Agnes Scott studying Psychology with a minor in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality studies. In her free time, she likes cooking and baking, reading, spending time outside, and petting cute dogs.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow on Instagram